Friends of ISKCON BANGALORE

Visit to Akshaya Patra

In Akshaya Patra, ISKCON Bangalore, madhu pandit on April 24, 2009 at 10:58 am

BY: MAHASRNGA DASA

Approximately six months ago, being heavily under the modes of passion and ignorance, I unknowingly or subconsciously became envious of Madhu Pandit prabhu and under the banner of ‘false ego’, I sought to expose ‘the truth’ according to my understanding based on hearsay information.

I was given some mis-information in the form of facts, figures, and documents along with rumors and foolishly swallowed them hook, line and sinker; then leaping before looking intelligently, investigating thoroughly, or speaking with the accused.

Some of the things I wrote were actually liable for action by the court system, but because of our past relationship and Madhu Pandit’s soft heart, he called off the legal beagles before they would have made my life miserable.

A week ago, on April 16, 2009, while travelling through Bangalore, Madhu Pandit contacted me and asked if I would like to visit the Akshaya Patra account office and look into the accounts myself.

I went to the Bangalore Temple the following day and attended the morning program. I was greeted with respect and had a wonderful spiritual experience with the assembled devotees. At 12:30 pm we had a meeting and I presented Madhu Pandit with my information, documents and half-truths that I had been told, and was actually shocked with his responses. He showed me court documents, explaining what really happened while gently rebuking me in a way so that I wouldn’t make such a fool of myself in the future. In the end I was embarrassed that I had not personally contacted him before shooting off my mouth.

After lunch I was brought to the accounting department of Akshaya Patra and introduced to the head accountant. He was instructed to answer all my questions and to show me whatever account books I requested. Previously I was told that Madhu Pandit was making millions of dollars from Akshaya Patra and that he was funneling the access into land deals all over the world. I couldn’t have been more mislead or hoodwinked. The Akshaya Patra project is operated by 8 Trustees who are from the top rung of society. Three are from INFOSYS, one is the CEO of Narvana Technologies, one is a successful industrialist, and three are from ISKCON Bangalore, which means the devotees don’t even have a majority vote.

Their accounts are audited by a group of chartered accountants in India called BSR & Co., who are a subsidiary of the Global firm KMPG, who audit NASDAQ. There are 17 prasada distribution centers in India which each has a chartered accountant, who in turn sends their accounts to the Bangalore office to be doubled checked and verified by another 10 accountants. Then there is a 3 man audit committee set up by the Board of Trustees to triple check the accounts for discrepancies, errors, or to find ways to increase distribution efficiency. And above all, there is the control of the government auditors, who are equivalent to the IRS in America, who periodically make unscheduled and surprise audits of their own.

When I asked the chief accountant what direct role Madhu Pandit played in handling the finance and accounts in the whole scheme of Akshaya Patra, he simply stated that he was the least person in the picture. There is even an advisory board chaired by the ex-Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of India along with the Secretary of Education, a commissioner of Education and two prominent industrialists who give advice based on the vision of the Trustee/Board of Directors of Akshaya Patra.

I had also heard the complaint that the menu and quality of prasadam being distributed was of inferior quality. However after further investigation, I found out that there is a BED (Block Education Officer) who immediately checks into all complaints for the government, to insure quality control. The bottom line is that the Akshaya Patra project is not the money making machine I so wrongfully accused it of being. In fact, the accounts showed a 1.73 cr. deficit for the year 08/09.

I feel in all honesty that I must apologize to the world, and personally to Madhu Pandit prabhu for not thoroughly investigating my sources of information, and for not contacting him personally as a godbrother before going public, and also to the organizers, workers and participants of the Akshaya Patra Foundation. Please forgive me for my ignorant and foolish offenses.

Mahasrnga dasa

  1. So you have passed your judgement and cleared him of all wrong doings but the latest is that the Govt has setup an inquiry to find out more into the scam.

    The Govt would not set up a commission unless there is enough evidence which requires further investigation.

    Let us hear from them as well

Leave a comment